SCS departments and LAS navigation

Nelson J. Leonard Distinguished Lecturers

Thomas Ceck Distinguished Professor
University of Colorado, Boulder
Nelson J. Leonard Centennial Celebration Thomas Carrell Chair of Organic Chemistry - Nucleic Acid Chemistry
Lugwig-Maximilians-Universität für Chemie und Pharmazie
  Marvin Caruthers Distinguished Professor
University of Colorado, Boulder
  Peter Deran Bren Professor of Chemistry
  Phillip Sharp Institute Professor
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2014/2015 Steven Chu

William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Physics and Molecular & Cellular Physiology
Stanford University

Video of Professor Chu's Lecture - The Energy and Climate Challenge: We Need a Few Great Chemists!

2013/2014 Jeffrey A. Hubbell Director of the Institute for Biomedical Engineering of the ETH
The University of Zurich Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Materials Science of the ETH École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
2012/2013 Steven J. Benkovic The Pennsylvania State University
2011/2012 Ada E. Yonath Weizmann Institute of Science - Rehovot, Israel
2008/09 Roger Y. Tsien University of California - San Diego
2006/07 Rolf Thauer Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology
2006 Joseph M. DeSimone University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University
2005/06 Thomas R. Cech Howard Hughes Medical Institute and University of Colorado at Boulder
2004/05 Robert S. Langer Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2003/04 Lawrence J. Marnett Vanderbilt University
2002/03 Amos B. Smith III University of Pennsylvania
2001/02 Alastair Ian Scott Texas A&M University
2000/01 David A. Tirrell California Institute of Technology
1998/99 Jean-Michel Savéant Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
1997/98 F. Sherwood RowlandUniversity of California, Irvine
1996/97 John D. RobertsCalifornia Institute of Technology
 Peter G. SchultzUniversity of California, Berkeley
 Sidney M. HechtUniversity of Virginia
 Peter G. SchultzUniversity of California, Berkeley
 Albert EschenmoserEidgenoessische Technische Hochschule, Zürich
1996Martin RodbellNational Institute for Environmental Health Sciences
1995Phillip A. SharpMassachusetts Institute of Technology
1994Rudolph A. MarcusCalifornia Institute of Technology
1993K. Barry SharplessScripps Research Institute
1992Thomas A. SteitzYale University
1991Richard R. ErnstEidgenoessische Technishe Hochschule, Zürich
1990Donald J. CramUniversity of California, Los Angeles
1989Christopher T. WalshHarvard Medical School
1988Sir Derek H. R. BartonTexas A&M University
1987James P. CollmanStanford University

School of Chemical Sciences
106 Noyes Lab
505 S. Mathews
Urbana, IL  61801
Professor Jonathan Sweedler

(217) 333-5070
(217) 333-3120 fax
jsweedle [at] illinois [dot] edu
Please send comments and suggestions to:
scs-webmaster [at] illinois [dot] edu