School departments and LAS link

Staff Awards 2017-2018

2017-2018 LAS Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

The purpose of the award program is to reward and honor the college's best teachers. The program is supported by alumni and friends of the college.

Brendan Harley

Congratulations to Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering professor Brendan Harley for winning a 2017-2018 College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Dean’s Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Harley Brendan photoHarley earned the award for his enthusiasm and clarity in the classroom, including his unique "journal club lectures", a style of teaching that involves the use of current journal articles to build fundamental understanding of research techniques and current research in the field.

"As a professor I take a lot of pride in not only the research that my laboratory pursues, but also in my role as a teacher,” Harley said. "We strive to create an instructional program on this campus that inspires and trains future generations of thinkers and leaders across a wide range of disciplines. So I am very honored to be recognized with this group of exceptional teachers."

Harley is a Robert W. Schaefer Faculty Scholar and Associate Professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. He also is a research theme leader in the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology. He joined the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Illinois in 2008. He received his SB from Harvard University in 2000 and SM/ScD from MIT in 2002 and 2006.

Harley, along with other recipients of the college’s annual teaching and advising awards will be recognized at a ceremony on April 18.

LAS teaching and advising awards article.

2017-2018 LAS Staff Award

Kara Metcalf

Kara Metcalf photo

Kara is a business administration associate in the Department of Chemistry. Her direct supervisor and nominator, Scott Denmark, said that he has never encountered a more dedicated, organized, reliable, and personable employee among all his support staff. Described as a person who thrives on learning new things and overcoming challenges, Metcalf started her job with the department knowing very little about the role and has become highly valued both for her professionalism and ability to work well with others.

Six staff and academic professionals are being recognized for their particularly noteworthy efforts in advancing the mission of the College of LAS in 2017-18. LAS staff and academic professional awards, 2017-18.


Staff Awards for 2016-2017

School of Chemical Sciences
106 Noyes Lab
505 S. Mathews
Urbana, IL  61801
Professor Jonathan Sweedler

(217) 333-5070
(217) 333-3120 fax
jsweedle [at] illinois [dot] edu
Please send comments and suggestions to:
scs-webmaster [at] illinois [dot] edu