2018 School News continued from home page | School of Chemical Sciences

2018 School News

(continued from the SCS home page)

Yiang Diao photoYing Diao is one of 21 recipients nationally of the 2018 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award. ChBE News.
John Katzenellenbogen photoJohn Katzenellenbogen receives AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry in Cancer Research. He is being honored for his seminal work on the development of chemical and biophysical tools to study the estrogen receptor and also for his outstanding work in developing PET imaging agents. AACR article.
Paul Hergenrother photoPaul Hergenrother received the ACS 2018 George & Christine Sosnosvsky Award for Cancer Research. Chemistry News.
Wilfred van der Donk photoWith the Tavassoli lab, the van der Donk group reported the generation of millions of cyclic peptides to disrupt a protein-protein interaction during HIV infection. U of I News.
Kenneth Suslick photoKenneth Suslick has won the AIC Chemical Pioneer Award for his pioneering research on chemical sensing and molecular recognition and other efforts on sonochemistry and sonolumninescence. Chemistry News.
Thomas Rauchfuss photoThomas Rauchfuss receives ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry. He was cited for leadership crucial to maintaining high standards and advancing inorganic chemistry and for sustained and creative contributions to synthetic inorganic chemistry. ACS national award winners.
Martine Gruebele and Duc Nguyen photoMartin Gruebele, Duc Nguyen and collaborators developed an imaging technique that enables researchers to capture 3D representations of single nanoparticles called quantum dots. U of I News.
Renske van der VeenRenske van der Veen receives a NSF CAREER Award with her proposal 'Ultrafast Imaging and Spectroscopy of Cooperative Phenomena in Photomagnetic Nanomaterials'. MRL News.
Stephen Elledge photoAlumnus, Stephen Elledge (BS, '78, was awarded a 2017 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences. Chemistry News.
Yiang Diao photoYiang Diao was awarded a 2018 Sloan Research Fellowship in chemistry. She is among 126 early-career scholars receiving the the award. ChBE News.
Martin Gruebele photoMartin Gruebele was one of three Cottrell Scholars receiving a 2018 TREE Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA).
Martin Burke photoMartin Burke has been named a 2017 University Scholar, honoring his pioneering research in molecular prosthetics and his role in developing the Carle Illinois College of Medicine. LAS News.
Marley Dewey (left) and Aleczandria Tiffany (right) photoHarley graduate students, Marley Dewey and Aleczandria Tiffany are researching how 3D-printed biomaterials can be used to reinforce mineralized collagen scaffolds to eventually perfect skull repair in injured soldiers. Beckman Institute News.
David Flaherty photoBrendan Harley photoDavid Flaherty and Brendan Harley have each received a College of Engineering Dean's Award for Excellence in Research. ChBE News.
Harley Brendan photoBrendan Harley is the recipient of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences 2017-2018 Dean's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. ChBE News.
Jonathan Sweedler photoJonathan Sweedler was awarded a 2018 Pathway to Stop Diabetes research grant. His research project title is "Unraveling Diabetes Progression a Cell at a Time". American Diabetes Assoc. article
Kenneth Hernandez-Burgos photoKenneth Hernández-Burgos, a postdoc collaborating with Joaquín Rodríguez-López and Jeffrey Moore was interviewed for a Beckman Institute article. Beckman Institute News.
Jinwoo Cheon photoJinwoo Cheon (PhD '93, Girolami), is a Madhuri and Jagdish N. Sheth International Alumni Award for Exceptional Achievement recipient. This annual U of I award is given to a distinguished international Illinois alum who has helped to better their own nation or the world through their contributions to government, humanity, science, art or human welfare. U of I News.
Professor Ying Diao and graduate student Hyunjoong Chung photoYing Diao and graduate student Hyunjoong Chung are members of a team that has identified a mechanism that triggers shape-memory in organic crystals used in plastic electronics. U of I News.
Jeffrey Moore photoJeffrey Moore was named a Stanley O. Ikenberry Endowed Chair, among the most distinguished honors on the campus. U of I News.


SCS News — 2017

School of Chemical Sciences
106 Noyes Lab
505 S. Mathews
Urbana, IL  61801
Professor Jonathan Sweedler

(217) 333-5070
(217) 333-3120 fax
jsweedle [at] illinois [dot] edu
Please send comments and suggestions to:
scs-webmaster [at] illinois [dot] edu