Affiliated departments and school

School of Chemical Sciences

School News

Wilfred van der Donk photoIn collaboration with the Drennan group at MIT, graduate student Emily Ulrich and Prof. Wilfred van der Donk report the molecular basis for methane formation in the oceans in Science. MIT News.
Diwakar Shukla photoDiwakar Shukla is a recipient of a New Innovator in Food and Agriculture Research Award for his project demonstrating the use computational biophysics in the understanding of fundamental questions in plant biology. ChBE News.

Shukla and his interdisciplinary colleagues utilized Blue Waters to model plant enzymes' processes critical for growth and development. ChBE News.
Timothy Fan and Paul Hergenrother photoHuman clinical trials of the anti-cancer drug PAC-1, developed by Paul Hergenrother for use against varieties of brain cancer are progressing at a steady pace. University of Illinois News.
Huimin Zhao photoHuimin Zhao and collaborators are developing new metabolic engineering methods that combine genetic manipulation steps that were time consuming when performed in sequence. IGB News.
Yi Lu photoYi Lu has been named one of the 2017 Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researchers. He was also on the list in 2015 and 2016. University of Illinois News.
Paul Lauterbur photoPaul Lauterbur (Nobel Prize, 2003) was inducted (posthumously) into the Engineering & Science Hall of Fame. ECE News.
Shuming Nie and Jonathan Sweedler photoTwo Dept. of Chemistry faculty members were chosen as 2017 Magnificent Tens by the Analytical Scientist magazine. Shuming Nie is in the "Giants of Nano" section and Jonathan Sweedler is in the "Leaders" section.
Charles Sing, left, and graduate students Jason Madinya and Tyler Lytle photoIn a new study, Charles Sing and colleagues tune electrostatic charges in synthetic polymers to drive self-assembly processes to create potentially useful new synthetic materials. University of Illinois News.
David V. Boger photoChemical Engineering alumnus, David V. Boger (PhD '65, Westwater) awarded a 2017 LAS Alumni Achievement Award for his work on fluid movement and ways to prevent tailings dam disasters. LAS News.
Michael J. Sofia photoChemistry alumnus, Michael J. Sofia (PhD '84, Katzenellebogen) receives a 2017 LAS Alumni Achievement Award for discovering the cure for Hepatitis C. LAS News.

More School News


SCS Seminar Bulletins

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Seminars

Chemistry Seminars

SCS Position Announcements

See employment opportunities in the following departments:

Service Facilities

SCS Storeroom Inventory and Price Report (updated daily at 11:00 am)

Building Maintenance

Staff Awards

SCS Teaching Awards
Outstanding faculty members and teaching assistants for 2016-2017 were recently announced.

SCS Outstanding Staff Awards
Congratulations to Gretchen Adams for being awarded both a 2016-17 LAS Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by Instructional Staff Award and a Campus Award for Excellence in Instruction.

School of Chemical Sciences
106 Noyes Lab
505 S. Mathews
Urbana, IL  61801
Professor Jonathan Sweedler

(217) 333-5070
(217) 333-3120 fax
jsweedle [at] illinois [dot] edu
Please send comments and suggestions to:
scs-webmaster [at] illinois [dot] edu