2018 School News

Jeffrey Moore is the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2018 Stephanie L. Kwolek Award winner, recognizing his exceptional contributions to the area of materials chemistry from a scientist working outside the UK. Chemistry News.

The Zhao research group has created a system using CRISPR technology to selectively turn off any gene in Saccharomyces yeast. U of I News.

Scott Denmark is now a member of the National Academy of Sciences. His research encompasses the invention, stereochemical study and mechanistic understanding of new synthetic reactions. U of I News.

Alayna Johnson was awarded a prestigious 2018-19 Goldwater Scholarship. She was one of 211 undergraduate students chosen nationally. Chemistry News.

Gregory Girolami receives a Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching. U of I News.

Zaida Luthey-Schulten and colleagues have built a "computational microscope" that can simulate the atomic and subatomic forces that drive molecular interactions. Their research may be found in Nature Methods. U of I News.

Ying Diao is one of 21 recipients nationally of the 2018 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award. ChBE News.

John Katzenellenbogen receives AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry in Cancer Research. He is being honored for his seminal work on the development of chemical and biophysical tools to study the estrogen receptor and also for his outstanding work in developing PET imaging agents. AACR article.

Paul Hergenrother received the ACS 2018 George & Christine Sosnosvsky Award for Cancer Research. Chemistry News.

With the Tavassoli lab, the van der Donk group reported the generation of millions of cyclic peptides to disrupt a protein-protein interaction during HIV infection. U of I News.

Kenneth Suslick has won the AIC Chemical Pioneer Award for his pioneering research on chemical sensing and molecular recognition and other efforts on sonochemistry and sonolumninescence. Chemistry News.

Thomas Rauchfuss receives ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry. He was cited for leadership crucial to maintaining high standards and advancing inorganic chemistry and for sustained and creative contributions to synthetic inorganic chemistry. ACS national award winners.

Martin Gruebele, Duc Nguyen and collaborators developed an imaging technique that enables researchers to capture 3D representations of single nanoparticles called quantum dots. U of I News.

Renske van der Veen receives a NSF CAREER Award with her proposal 'Ultrafast Imaging and Spectroscopy of Cooperative Phenomena in Photomagnetic Nanomaterials'. MRL News.

Yiang Diao was awarded a 2018 Sloan Research Fellowship in chemistry. She is among 126 early-career scholars receiving the the award. ChBE News.

Martin Gruebele was one of three Cottrell Scholars receiving a 2018 TREE Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA).

Martin Burke has been named a 2017 University Scholar, honoring his pioneering research in molecular prosthetics and his role in developing the Carle Illinois College of Medicine. LAS News.

Harley graduate students, Marley Dewey and Aleczandria Tiffany are researching how 3D-printed biomaterials can be used to reinforce mineralized collagen scaffolds to eventually perfect skull repair in injured soldiers. Beckman Institute News.

David Flaherty and Brendan Harley have each received a College of Engineering Dean's Award for Excellence in Research. ChBE News. Harley

Jonathan Sweedler was awarded a 2018 Pathway to Stop Diabetes research grant. His research project title is "Unraveling Diabetes Progression a Cell at a Time". American Diabetes Assoc. article

Kenneth Hernández-Burgos, a postdoc collaborating with Joaquín Rodríguez-López and Jeffrey Moore was interviewed for a Beckman Institute article. Beckman Institute News.

Jinwoo Cheon (PhD '93, Girolami), is a Madhuri and Jagdish N. Sheth International Alumni Award for Exceptional Achievement recipient. This annual U of I award is given to a distinguished international Illinois alum who has helped to better their own nation or the world through their contributions to government, humanity, science, art or human welfare. U of I News.

Ying Diao and graduate student Hyunjoong Chung are members of a team that has identified a mechanism that triggers shape-memory in organic crystals used in plastic electronics. U of I News.

Jeffrey Moore was named a Stanley O. Ikenberry Endowed Chair, among the most distinguished honors on the campus. U of I News.